I just typed up a great post and lost it by clicking [Add Topic]
I diligently typed up a great post.
Re-read my post.
And clicked [Add Topic]
Uh oh !
In *RETROSPECT* I see I should have clicked [Save].
Lost data is a serious matter ... my post is gone !!
UI suggestions to avoid this data loss situation.
#1) After a user clicks [Add topic] HIDE the [Add Topic] button. Pretty simple. After you have clicked [Add Topic] there is zero use for this button ! Keeping a button visible that is of no use, but potentially destroys a post is bad UI.
Actually I can only think of one way to avoid this. 🙂 See #1.
[Add Topic] is just a toggle, it doesn't refresh the page, so you can't lost your text. You just need to click on [Add Topic] again and open the editor with your written text.
I did notice that the second time.
The first time I must have clicked on something else.
Ive had this happen to many of my users too!
Just edited a post and replaced the text with some "test bold" as had a temporary issue with bold not visualizing in the posts. Now I've lost that post 🙁 and the only way to restore it would be from anold copy of the database. However I have no such as this was created yesterday.
Any idea? Or is any version control feature planned for a future realease. Would be helpful for such uncareful guys like me 😀