Clear all

[Closed] Quick comparison to smf and mybb

7 Posts
4 Users
8 Reactions
labradorman
Topic starter
(@labradorman)

Hello, I am thinking about to apply wpforo with addons or smf with extra packs or my bb for my forums

Could anyone please give your opinions about advantages of wpforo compared to the other two?

Thank you very much 🙂

6 Replies
Sapere Aude
(@sapere-aude)
Trusted Member

We have tried just about every available forum software with Wordpress and have been unsatisfied until now.

Certainly there are a few things I'd like to be able to do a little easier like replacing the BuddyPress Profile with the wpForo profile. I really don't like BuddyPress profiles, they are.. well just plain ugly. I would prefer that the wpForo profile be site wide but also include the things that the BuddPress profile pages do (i.e. notification, messages, site activity etc.).

Alas, I am not a coder and we certainly do not have the funds to pay someone for such significant changes.

Anyway, other forum software (SMF & myBB ) requires some kind of bridge between the forum and Wordpress which can lead to big problems; fitting in with your theme as just one example. bbPress is just ugly to the eye as well. 

wpForo is stylish, easy to set up, easy to use and we couldn't be happier with the support we've received, what little was necessary to get things up and running.

I do not know all of the features you are looking for, but I think you might just like setting up and using wpForo on your site. We're certainly glad we did!

Wendell
(@wendell)
Reputable Member

On my website, I previously used WP for news, xenForo for the forum, and a WP plugin called xenWord as a bridge. It worked okay, but bridges are painful to keep up and maintain. When I discovered wpForo, I was (and still am) very happy! It is SO much nicer to have everything in WordPress and especially with such a great forum solution as wpForo.

Robert
Admin
(@robert)
Support Team

Hi @labradorman,