Notifications
Clear all

wpForo 1.x.x [Closed] PHPSESSID placed by WPForo is preventing caching on the rest of the website

7 Posts
4 Users
1 Likes
David_Nova
Topic starter
(@david_nova)

First of all, two things.

1 Best forum plugin ever! Amazing work!

2 I'm by no means an expert in any of the real technical stuff.

Okay, I figured out that from all the plugins I run, WPForo is the only one that uses the PHPSESSID cookie. I also learned that this cookie prevents any form of caching from happening. No problem on the forum because all caching should be disabled on the forum paged anyway.

BUT, Once the cookie is placed, all the other pages of my website are not being cached anymore either!!!

The forum is part of a bigger website and it now hurts the performance of the whole website. I asked around and the advice I get from different people is this:

1. Change to another forum plugin that doesn't use PHPSESSID cookie.

2. Ask the developer of the plugin to change to a different method of storing user sessions. 

3. Host the forum on a separate domain away from the website.

I do not want to switch to another plugin, WPForo is amazing. Hosting the forum on a separate domain would create a terrible user experience since I integrate the forum into different elements of the website. I don't want to ask users to move away from the website and login again for the forum on another website. Also that would make no sense for SEO.

So two questions:

Like talked about in this post https://wpforo.com/community/general-discussions/wp-foro-using-phpsessid-why/ by @jsprfrmn, are there any serious plans to change this in the very very near future?

Until then, is there anything I can do to stop WPForo from using the PHPSESSID cookie?   

Thanks a million!   

6 Replies
(@martin)
Support Team

Thank you, @david_nova,

This issue is not general and it's only related to some cache solutions.