Notifications
Clear all

[Closed] Integration with CleanTalk Anti-spam

7 Posts
4 Users
1 Likes
Topic starter
(@boardboss)

Greetings - I am completely new to wpForo. During setup, I noticed the message "Akismet is not installed! For an advanced Spam Control please install Akismet antispam plugin, it works well with wpForo Spam Control system. Akismet is already integrated with wpForo. It'll help to filter posts and protect forum against spam attacks." displayed on the 'Antispam' tab in the 'Forum Tools' section. I agree that this message is accurate: I uninstalled Akismet as soon as I installed WordPress, and instead installed CleanTalk Anti-spam.

I understand some people love everything by Automattic, whereas I tend to love what works best. So when I read the message mentioned above in the wpForo admin area my first thought was "who cares?"

With that said, why would I also need (or want) the wpForo in-built Spam Control enabled if I am using a solution like CleanTalk (or even if I chose to use Akismet)?

Thank you in advance for any help or advice.

6 Replies
Robert
Admin
(@robert)
Support Team

@boardboss,

Akismet is a good option, but it's not required. You can install any other solution you want, just make sure they don't conflict with your plugins. First we recommend Google reCAPTCHA, which is integrated with wpForo in Dashboard > Forums > Tools > Antispam tab.

For example, if you use the CleanTalk Anti-spam plugin you should check the following to function and make sure they are not stopped by CleanTalk Anti-spam:

1. Try to register using wpForo registration form and make sure it works.

2. Try some AJAX functions, post like, post sticky and the most important one, click the Tools button of the first post of some Topic to open Topic "move", "split", "merge" options. Make sure the button works, and it opens the tools:

Also, please read this FAQ topic: https://wpforo.com/community/faq/how-to-stop-spam/

Topic starter
(@boardboss)